Quick bites: Frozen chai

Frozen_Chai-WEB

$5.25??? WHAT?

I don’t know about you, but I love chai. It’s spicy and sweet, and hits just in the right spot in terms of a caffeine boost. However, I’m not a huge fan of hot drinks. They tend to make me sleepy, and when there’s no espresso in them, I tend to get too comfortable and want to pass out in class. So the perfect solution is frozen chai! The problem is that my wallet takes a major hit when I order blended chai. So here’s how to make them at home for much less than what coffee shops charge.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 packet Oregon Chai Latte mix (you can also use the liquid, but I don’t know where to buy that. I stole these packets from a dining hall last year, so this is especially cost-effective.
  • Milk
  • One tray of ice cubes

Pop your ice cubes into a blender. Make sure to use a whole tray, unless you like your frozen drinks a little milky. Add the chai mix, then pour milk up to the top of the ice cubes. Blend. Pour into a glass and top with whipped cream and cinnamon, if desired.

Leave a Reply

